Saldra El Sol

Lots of Down Time

on August 21, 2012

So, I’m all settled here in college, and so far, I’ve just been training in the library.  It definitely has it’s perks such as hardly any strenuous labor and plenty of time to do my homework, but at the same time, there’s really nothing to do right now.  We’ve done most of the shelving in preparation for the beginning of the year, but most of what we’ve been doing is helping resident assistants with their work– such as laminating and printing.  I only have to work for four hours out of the day, and the rest of the day is mine, so I’ve been looking around town and gaging out prices for future shopping expeditions (such as when I have the money).  I’ve also been going around campus trying to get in all of my paper work, which is truly frustrating.

I have my pantry all set up with a sweet fridge, and I have all the snacks a girl could ever need :).  I also periodically take bananas and oranges from the kitchen lol.

I’ve been missing home, though.  I definitely miss curling up on the sofa with my mom and having interesting conversations with my family members, and it’s been difficult when you really don’t know many people.  I know a few.  There’s girls on my floor who work in the library with me, so I’m not totally alone, but with all this down time, it’s hard for me to keep busy and NOT miss home.

I don’t know if it’s pathetic or not to be this homesick so soon, but at the same time, I don’t care.   I just want to get busy and start classes so I don’t have to think about it.

It truly is beautiful on campus though, and I look forward to my morning walks to breakfast.  I also love going out on the balcony that I have access to in my dorm.  It’s so peaceful up there.

My mom says I need to enjoy the free time I have here on campus, and that’s what I’m going to do– so that I have a few moments peace before all the busy-ness consumes me.  I haven’t really been able to make any new recipes lately because I always have my meals made for me and it certainly helps that I’m attatched to the salad bar (the salad bar is huge by the way with tons of vegetables and legumes!).   I always have a salad with my meal here– besides breakfast in which case I just grab some toast to take back to my room in order to smother in my own peanut butter (cause who wants that sugar-filled smucker’s? yuck!).  Maybe this weekend, I’ll make some snickerdoodles if I have the money and time to make them.  I really don’t have any flour here, and the most money I have in my wallet is five dollars– which I need for almond milk later this week.  Alas, the life of a student :/ (and classes haven’t even begun yet!!)

Also, I apparently keep sleeping on my neck wrong because I woke up in the middle of the night with extreme neck pains– mostly muscular, I think.  But advice would definitely be needed!

Finally, continue to pray for Marvin– still in the ICU, but he’s doing better.  He’s responsive and he was able to say his brothers’ names, which is good.  I hope he can get out of the ICU soon!

Have a great Tuesday 🙂

Leave a Reply

