Saldra El Sol

Busy Day

on August 13, 2012

Today, I had an appointment with an Orthopedic doctor, and lucky me, I just have to go through some physical therapy and that should be it!  My kneecap’s only slightly off and I don’t have a tear like previously thought.  So, just a few more weeks and maybe I’ll be able to start running again!  In the mean time, though, I managed to get loads of packing done for Wednesday, and I got some cleaning supplies because a dirty dorm room would NOT be desirable.  I also got lots of baking done, too.  I made some delicious homemade bread and some vegan cream cheese!  I don’t think I’ve had cream cheese in forever– mostly because it wasn’t my favorite food, but I still like it.

Here’s the recipe for the bread which is based off the pretzels from Spoonful of Sugar-free:

Super soft bread

Ingredients:

1 package of yeast

1 cup of warm water

2 and a half cups of whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon of salt

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

a small handful of rolled oats

cinnamon

Steps:

1. Combine the yeast and water in a large mixing bowl and set aside for five minutes.

2. Add in the rest of the ingredients besides the rolled oats and cinnamon.

3. Knead the dough, adding more flour if it’s too sticky.

4. Keep kneading until it’s nice and stretchy.

5. Cover the dough with a clean rag and let it rise for an hour.

6. Heat the oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit and punch the dough down.

7.  Roll the dough out to desired shape and top with some rolled oats and cinnamon.

8. Bake for 15 minutes.

9.  Let it cool and enjoy!

I also decided to make some cream cheese to accompany it, and here’s that recipe:

Vegan Cream Cheese

Ingredients:

2/3 of a block of Nori-Mu silken tofu

2 tablespoons of vinegar

1/4 teaspoon of salt

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

about ten drops of stevia extract OR a tablespoon of sugar

Steps:

1. Combine all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and done :).

I got this recipe from here.  I quite like the taste, but I haven’t tested it on my family yet, so feel free to alter the recipe to your desired taste :).

So, I’m almost ready to move in, and I’m pretty sad to be leaving home :(.  I’m definitely gonna miss coming home to my mom and brother, making supper, doing my homework in front of the television while having interesting conversations with my family.  It’s definitely going to take some getting used to, but I know that I’m going to have a lot of fun with my room mate and the other girls on my floor– as well as my other classmates.  Not to mention, I plan on being involved in a few clubs, so that should be loads of fun!  I have a lot to look forward to, but a lot I’m leaving as well, so I definitely have some mixed feelings.  I’ll get over it though.  My boss at the library is so nice, and all of the people I met at orientation were super friendly– not to mention the staff and teachers I met.  Until then, though, I’ve been using my anxious energy to cook and clean (a little ;)).

What’s your favorite type of bread?

Mine’s got to be Ezekiel. It’s so thick and hearty– not like that fluffy Wonderbread!  I also love Panera’s baguette– you know, that little baguette that you get as a side to your meal?

3 responses to “Busy Day

  1. paoang says:

    That bread looks amazing! I’ve never made homemade bread before because it kind of intimidates me, but I should definitely try it out. Good luck with packing and EVERYTHING, btw. You must be really anxious and I can totally relate. But just live in the moment and try not to stress, I know you’ll have a lot of fun this year!! I can’t wait to hear about your life in college 😀

    PS – I am glad that it’s nothing serious with your knee, that would’ve been horrible. I hope a little rest does the trick! Have great week!

    • Thanks! I used to be intimidated by bread, but it’s actually not hard– just a long process lol. Thanks so much for the advice– I’m glad that I’m not the only one who was anxious about college!

  2. caloricandcrazy says:

    I love foccacia bread. We used to make it at home every week and pair it with edamame. SO GOOD 🙂

Leave a Reply

