Saldra El Sol

Dragging Days

on August 12, 2012

Only three more days until I move in and there’s so much to do!  I’ve been packing gradually to avoid that sudden rush, and I’ve gradually been getting school supplies (thanks to loving parents).  I think I’ve almost got everything.  I just need to pick up a little mini-fridge because 1) I promised my room mate and 2) I’ve got to have somewhere to store my almond milk and other various snack items.  Also, I need to fill out some vaccine forms and some other employment forms which I detest.  So, rather than doing that, I’ve decided to write this blog post ;).

I’ve been doing some experimentations with sugar free cooking because still, I’ve been having some hay fever-ish symptoms and I’ve read that they can go away with a reduction of sugar.  Let me get one thing straight here– I love sugar.  It gives me quick energy, and it tastes good, but too much of the processed stuff gives me headaches, nausea, and, in general, makes me feel like crap.  So, I’ve been gradually cutting down to help my immune system.  Yoga’s also been helping– what with the deep breathing exercises and such.

Also, I got the results from my MRI.  Unfortunately, I sprained my knee pretty badly and I have a slight tear in my ACL, which means a trip to the orthopedic doctor.  I doubt, though, that I’ll need surgery– probably just a brace or exercises or something like that.

Anyway, in other words, I’ve been spending a lot of time in the kitchen– experimenting (I think I’m gonna love being a Chemistry major!)– and packing rather than running like I planned to do this summer.

Here, though, is a sugar-free version of the Breakfast Oatmeal Cookies from the book, the Vegan Cookie Connoseur.  (In all actuality, though, I’ve altered it so much, I don’t think they’re even the same cookie! haha).

Sugar-free Breakfast Oatmeal Cookies

2/3 cup of almond milk (obviously, if you want them truly sugar-free, you have to make it unsweetened almondmilk)

1/2 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar

1 cup of rolled oats

3/4 cup of white whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1 banana mashed

a very scant 1/4 teaspoon of liquid stevia (if you don’t have much of a sweet-tooth, go ahead and omit)

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1/2 cup of blueberries

1/4 cup of almonds (or any other nut!)

Steps:

1. Mix together the almond milk and vinegar.

2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

3. Mix all the dry ingredients together except the almonds and blueberries.

4. Mix the almond milk mixture, the banana, the stevia, and the vanilla into the dry ingredients.

5. Fold in the almonds and blueberries.

6. Plop the dough down 1 tablespoon at a time.  One cookie= 2 tablespoons of dough (depending on how big you want the cookies.)

7.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.

8. Let it cool and enjoy!

They’re a little less sweet, of course, than the other cookies, but I still like them, and my mother, who doesn’t have a hint of a sweet tooth (besides her ice cream), loves them and doesn’t notice the difference.

This morning, I watched the olympic men’s marathon, and I was so disappointed that Ryan Hall had to drop out! 😦  I was rooting for him, but I guess he had to do what was best for his body.  During the commercials, I made a warm cup of coffee and some Maandazi from One Life In Stills.  I just cut the recipe in half and reduced the sugar to 1 tablespoon since I didn’t want it too sugary and my dad hates it when I use up all his raw sugar haha.  They were amazing with chocolate in the middle!

Hehe, my fingers look stubby in this picture 😛

What’s your favorite event in the olympics?

Mine’s definitely a tie between the diving and the marathon!  The marathon always gets me stoked about running!

Leave a Reply

