Saldra El Sol

Gallo Pinto :)

on August 8, 2012

This past March, I had the privilege of going to Nicaragua in Central America.  It was the first time I ever went to a new country, and to be perfectly honesty, I had a blast and I made plenty of friends– so I plan to go back one day.  The weather was always hot there, but I didn’t mind, and the food was absolutely delicious– it was either fresh or fried lol.  Also, the people were so hospitable.  We worked with Bradley’s House of Hope which helps disabled kids and their families, and we worked at Chacocente– which is a project that helps people from the dump get a new life through giving them land, education, and a way to make money.  Even now, I still keep in contact with people from Chacocente.

The food was amazing, and my favorite meal was the Gallo Pinto– which means Painted Rooster– but, don’t worry, it doesn’t typically have rooster– well, the kind I had didn’t have any.  It’s just basically stir fried beans and rice.  However, I forgot to take a picture :(.  Next time for sure though!

Gallo Pinto

Ingredients:

1.5 cups of cooked beans (preferably red)

2 cups of cooked rice

1 tablespoon of coconut oil

dash of various seasonings (I used basil and chili powder, but you could use cilantro, cayenne, or anything)

Steps:

1. Heat up the oil and seasonings in a pan on medium heat.

2. Add the rice and cook for about five minutes.

3. Add the beans and cook for another five minutes.

4. Done and enjoy 🙂

This isn’t just a dinner or lunch– I had this for breakfast actually in Nicaragua, but whenever I make it here, I always have it for dinner :).  I definitely miss Nicaragua a lot, and I plan to return one day.  Mangoes were everywhere 🙂 and one girl at Chacocente just kept giving me all these different types of mangoes that her family grew.  Noni fruit also grows– but it’s really gross– all of us called it the “poop fruit” haha.

However, I really feel like I could go there as a medical missionary, because when we visited the hospital there, I felt like crying.  It was all open air, really dark, and all together kind of scary.  Also, this nation is the second poorest in the western hemisphere– after Haiti, and the unemployment is 70 percent.  They’re going through a lot of political stuff right now that I don’t completely understand, but still, we should pray for them and help them through missionary work or donations.

Have you ever gone on a mission trip?

I love going on mission trips.  My brother goes to Philadelphia once a year to help the inner city kids get off the streets and have somewhere to go during the summer.

Leave a Reply

