Saldra El Sol

Peppermint Tea and Life Questions

on August 5, 2012

I adore tea.  It helps in so many ways.  When I have a cold, ginger tea helps tremendously.  When I can’t sleep, chamomile is amazing.  When I’m having a hard time staying awake, (besides the usual coffee) I’ll have green tea.  There are so many different types of tea that it can be overwhelming.  However, of all the different types of tea, right now, I’m in love with peppermint.  It’s not bitter– like black tea– and it has many uses.  It opens your blood vessels so it can help energize you without the use of caffeine.  It also helps to sooth stomach aches and (of course) bad breath.

teabenefits.com has an extensive list of teas and their various uses, so if you’ve always been curious about herbal teas and what to do with them, visit this website– it’s pretty interesting!

Ahh, my “tea pot” doesn’t look as cute lol

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyway, not only can peppermint help with stomach aches and foggy minds– but it does help with mild asthma by opening up the blood vessels and reducing the inflammation.  However, of course, if you have an asthma attack, please use an inhaler and not peppermint tea.  Finally, mice are allergic to peppermint oil– so if you have a mouse problem, just dab a bit of oil in the corners or somewhere like that– or leave a bit of food with peppermint oil in it.

Personally, I prefer a bit of stevia extract with my tea (which is a sweetner that doesn’t affect blood sugar), but as we have no stevia in our house at the moment– I’m going with honey this afternoon.  Earlier this weekend, I went out to lunch with my dad, and we, of course, went to Hot Head Burrito– which is pretty good– and it’s very convenient for vegans since you get to choose the ingredients in your burrito (or taco).  Today, we went out for Mexican again, but still, it was excellent since I was able to see my older brother and spend some time with him and my mom.  I’m not going to be able to spend much time with my brothers when I’m in college so it’s great that I’m able to do it now.

Church today was really convicting since it begged the question– are you just a fan or a follower of Jesus?  So often, I talk the talk, but do I really walk the walk?  Do I spend more time doing my “own thing” where I should be listening to God and following His purpose?  I’ve reached a critical moment in my life where decisions now can affect me ten or twenty years from now, so I want to make the right decisions and truly follow God by seeking His Plan rather than what I think is best right at this moment.  Right now, though, I’m so wrapped up in everything that’s changing that I’ve put my spiritual life and growth on hold :/.  Regardless of a rapidly changing life, we all need to realize what’s important in life and focus.

Where do you see yourself ten years from now?

I definitely see myself completing my residency at a hospital :).

Verse:  “‘I know the plans I have for you,’ says the Lord. ‘They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and hope.’” Jeremiah 29:11

5 responses to “Peppermint Tea and Life Questions

  1. Oooo…I love tea, too! Have you tried Jasmine Dragon Pearls? Amazing!

  2. Gwen says:

    Mice are allergic to peppermint oil? Really? I remember the last time we had mice, it was awful and we eventually had to drown one…so sad. 😦 Thanks for the non-violent anti-pest tip.

  3. Gwen says:

    Oh, and I almost forgot. Ten years from now, I see myself at a church plant in France, saving fashionable, complacent, unhappy European souls and totally being chased by dozens of non-English-speaking hotties. *wink*

Leave a Reply

