Saldra El Sol

Awesome brownie recipe

on August 4, 2012

Thursday I went to the doctor’s office for both my knee and my sinuses, and apparently, I may have torn some cartilage in my left knee which is why it won’t heal.  Also, he says I have a sinus infection so I’m on some antibiotics.  So, this Tuesday I’m going to get an MRI to see what’s up with my knee.  Hopefully, it’s not torn but just bruised or something like that.  Regardless, as long as I get better :).

Anyway, last night, my family and I agreed that it was time for some brownies, so I googled the “best vegan brownie recipe” and of course, vegweb had the best recipes, and one in particular stood out to me.  However, I just had to alter it because it didn’t seem “chocolate” enough for me.  So, rather than a whole 1/2 cup of oil, I replaced 1/4 cup of the oil with melted chocolate 🙂 which worked out splendidly.  I also used 1 full teaspoon of vanilla extract rather than just 1/2 but that was pure accident– oops.  It still tastes amazing, though, so I’ll just put exactly what I did down.

🙂

Super fudgy brownies

Ingredients:

1 cup of white whole wheat flour

1 cup of sugar (I used Florida Crystals because it’s less processed but it still tastes good)

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/4 cup of chocolate chips (try to get fair trade!) melted

1/4 cup of coconut oil

1/2 cup of water

1/2 cup of walnuts if you want (I didn’t use them because we ran out :/)

Steps:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.  Mix together all the dry ingredients in one bowl.

2. Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave (ten seconds, stir, another ten seconds, stir until smooth so it doesn’t burn), and mix together all the wet ingredients in another bowl.

3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir.

4. At this point, if you want walnuts, you should probably fold them in now.

5. Line an 8 or 9″ pan with foil and oil it slightly.  Put the dough in and place it in the oven for around 20 minutes.

6. Let it cool, slice into 16 pieces, and enjoy!

I loved these brownies and I will definitely make them again!  They also taste good a day after or so because they’re slightly more solid.  They may fall apart easily right after the oven, but just wait five minutes or so and they will solidify.

Unfortunately, I can’t visit my dad this weekend because he has to work again :/, but that’s okay since I’m having lunch with him later.  I really miss him– it’s been a while, and I want to visit him before I leave for college!  Also, next week, I’ll be going shopping for some school supplies!  I’m pretty excited, but right now, I have to fill out various forms for employment and medical history.  It seems like I’ve been filling out forms forever!

What have you been doing all summer?

I’ve mostly been cooking and cleaning– but I did visit California earlier in June.  It was a blast!  I loved visiting my mom’s friends and seeing the gorgeous pier in Imperial Beach!  I also found an amazing little restaurant that sells vegan crepes!  I hadn’t had a crepe in such a long time before then!

Leave a Reply

