Saldra El Sol

Breakfast Cookies

on August 2, 2012

I have one cookbook that I absolutely love.  Really, it’s truly amazing, and practically every week, my mom asks me to make one particular recipe from it.  It’s oatmeal breakfast cookies with walnuts and blueberries.  She loves the recipe.  The cookies are fairly low in sugar, but personally, the way these cookies are, it would be weird to have it overly sugary.  Not to mention, since oatmeal helps the body sleep, my mom– and myself sometimes– eat these at night as well.  They are super soft and cinnamon-y.

Has everything from huge chocolate chunk cookies to healthy breakfast cookies.

I often modify the recipe, though, to fit what we currently have in the pantry.  Also, the cookies taste amazing with mixed berries, as well as with just blueberries.  Finally, the dough tends to be a little dry, so I always add more almondmilk.

So here’s my version of Oatmeal Walnut Blueberry Breakfast Cookies that appear in the Vegan Cookie Connosseur.

Ingredients:

1/3 cup of almondmilk (or milk of choice– I’ve had success with hemp milk)

1/2 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar (kind of weird, but you don’t taste it)

1 and 1/2 cup of white whole wheat flour

1/2 cup of rolled oats

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/4 cup of agave nectar or honey

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/4 cup of almondmilk as needed

1/2 cup of mixed berries (raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries)

1/4 cup of walnuts

Steps:

1. In a medium sized bowl, mix together the 1/3 cup of almondmilk and apple cider vinegar and set aside for five minutes.

2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

3. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the all of the dry ingredients besides the mixed berries and walnuts.

4. Pour in the agave nectar, the vanilla, and the almondmilk and vinegar mixture into the flour mixture.

5. Stir, and if it starts to clump together, pour in a little bit of almondmilk at a time until it’s the right consistency (not to watery and not to dry).

6. Fold in the walnuts and mixed berries.

7. On a cookie sheet, use a tablespoon to put down little pieces of dough.  Depending on how many cookies you want and how big you want them, the recipe can make around 10-15 cookies.

8. Put it in the oven for 10-12 minutes.

9. Take it out and let it cool for a few minutes and then enjoy!

Huh, when I last made these, the container was full…

I thoroughly enjoy the Vegan Cookie Connoseur.  I really hope that– if I have the time– I can make all of the different cookies in the book.  I especially enjoyed the espresso cookies.  These cookies, though, are perfect for a rushed morning when you can’t make a nourishing bowl of oatmeal!  My mom, especially, appreciates these because, often, she’s too rushed to make breakfast, and we all know how important breakfast is!  I certainly can’t go a day without eating breakfast– I don’t think I ever have.  Though, when I was younger, I sometimes skipped lunch simply because I wasn’t hungry lol.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this recipe, and I’ll write again tomorrow!

So, do you often skip breakfast?

Leave a Reply

