Saldra El Sol

Cool Chocolate Cheesecake for a Warm Day

on July 30, 2012

It’s the dog days of summer here.  Summer’s coming to an end, and back-to-school sales are rampant, but the weather itself is relentless.  It’s getting cooler though, and the air is remiscent of fall.  Only two or so more weeks until I’m moving in and beginning my training in the library (my new job!).

Yesterday, we celebrated my mom’s birthday even though it’s today.  Typically, we celebrate birthdays very chill.  We lounge around, eat good food, and watch movies.  We’re homebodies, and we like it that way haha.  A couple of years ago, I made a chocolate cheesecake for my mom’s birthday that she absolutely adored, and I replicated it yesterday.  It was so good!  I got the recipe from Vegweb.  I love that site!  There are so many comments from actual people so I don’t have to go through the work of testing the recipe myself! haha.

Here’s the recipe that I adapted:

Vegan Chocolate Cheesecake

very rich!

Ingredients:

1 Pre-made chocolate pie crust

1 block of Mori-Nu silken tofu (it’s in a little white box)

2/3 cup of chocolate chips (I used vegan fair-trade chocolate chips)

1/2 cup of agave nectar

4 tablespoons of cocoa powder

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Steps:

1. Press the tofu by placing it in a bowl and placing something heavy over it such as a book.  Allow it to press for about an hour or two.

2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

3. Melt the chocolate in a glass bowl in the microwave.  You can do this by putting it in there for about thirty seconds, stir, place it back in for a few more seconds, and stir again until smooth.  Make sure you don’t burn it!

4. Allow the chocolate to cool, and place the tofu along with the agave nectar in a blender or food processor.  Pour the chocolate in and blend until smooth.

5.  After you have a very delicious-looking pudding, put it in a bowl and stir in the vanilla and cocoa powder.

6.  Trying very hard not to eat the pudding, go ahead and pour it into the pre-made pie crust.  Place it in the oven and bake for about thirty minutes or until it looks solid on top.

7.  After baking, place the pie into the fridge and chill for an hour or two.

8.  Cut into it and enjoy!

Certainly, this is a long process, but it’s totally worth it.  It makes around eight pieces depending on your appetite, and I’m not sure how long it keeps– I guess until it smells bad!  But seriously, after a week, it’s probably not that good anymore…

I meant to go for a run this morning, but my knee is still bothering me since the half-marathon.  So, I’m going to the doctor this Thursday to hear his opinion and get some advice.  Hopefully, I’ll be better by the time I move in!  Instead of running, I just did some strength training and very soon I’m going for a swim.  All I can think about though is moving in.  I haven’t gotten anything yet besides a trash can and a computer!  No fridge, no comforter, no sheets, no nothing :/.  Oh well, it doesn’t do anything to worry about it.  Chocolate is certainly a Godsend for stressful times such as these!

So, what do you do to de-stress? 

I like yoga and chocolate for stressful moments.  I also have some Tension Tamer tea that I really like!

2 responses to “Cool Chocolate Cheesecake for a Warm Day

  1. Today IS cheesecake day after all! Good call — way to put chocolate and cheesecake into one – my favorite two desserts. 🙂 mmm

Leave a Reply

